This tutorial explains how to use the WP Auto Update tool developed by SiteGround in order to keep your website always safe and up-to-date.
- 1 SiteGround Auto-Update Tool Tutorial
How to Access SiteGround WordPress Auto-Update Tool?
First, you need to login to your cPanel account and open the WP Auto Update tool located in the WordPress Tools section.
SiteGround Auto-Update Tool Tutorial
Learn How to Auto-Update your WordPress at SiteGround
WP Auto Update Overview
On the first screen, you will see brief instructions on how to use WP Auto Update. Under them, you will find a list of your WordPress sites. Next, to the site URL, you will see its status showing whether WP Auto Update is Enabled or Disabled for this site. The last column in the table is for the available actions you can perform for those sites.
WordPress Core Update Options
If you have a website that doesn’t have WP Auto Update yet and isn’t up-to-date, you will see two options next to it – Enable Autoupdate and Update WordPress Core. The first one will enable the auto-update feature and schedule an update for your site. The second option will instantly perform a one-time update of your WordPress site. We recommend that you enable the auto-update feature of the tool since it will assure that your site is always up-to-date.
WordPress Plugins Update Options
In addition, there is the Update plugins option available for all sites with WP Auto Update enabled. If you enable this option, all of your plugins will be updated to the latest version alongside with the core application.
If any issues with your website occur due to the automatic update feature, you can always restore your site to its state before the update. WP Auto Update stores a backup of your website each time it performs an automatic update. If something goes wrong, simply select your site and select the Restore last backup action.
Skip or Disable the AutoUpdate
Having an updated WordPress website is crucial for your security. That’s why we allow skipping an update only in the 24 window after a new version is released. Doing this will skip only the current update but not the upcoming ones. If you are absolutely sure you want to disable our AutoUpdate system, you can post a ticket to us and request your site to be removed from the AutoUpdate system.